Italy: Day 8 Florence

We woke up early after a ROUGH nights sleep (on account of the hotel’s heater was out & it was 40 degrees out side). I think we slept for about 4 hours.

We decided to bust through with the plan & head to the Accademia. We took a bus since I got a blister & our feet have been hurting since yesterday’s treck around Pisa.

The David is at the Accademia & he was beautiful! Leading up to the David are other Michaelangelo’s works which help to give information on the process of creating “the David”. The detail of his hands & feet were incredibly impressive. Also, we learned about the difficulty of the shading that comes with marble carvings. The shading is not painted on but intentionally sculpted through knowledge of the stone. That is a TMI way of saying, the David was amazing & impressive. #michaelangelorespect

After seeing some of the other pieces (notably, the Pieta & instrument museum), we headed to the Galileo Science Museum. It was really incredible & Will & I kept talking about how much my dad would love it! There were so many antique trinkets & gadgets that I could only think of it as his paradise. I also found the educational sculptures of different types of deliveries (breach, “problematic pregnancy”, “forceps delivery”) most interesting. Afterword, I realized I didn’t take pics because I was too tired to think straight :/ anyway, then we went to the interactive part of the museum because we are children. It was the most fun part & reminded me of the Mcwane center. Don’t get me wrong, I have enjoyed all of the art museums, but the science museum captivated my attention the most!

After Galileo, we went to one of the shopping squares to get a sandwich & grab some souvenirs. We found all but our own which we considered a success worthy of a nap. So we went back to the hotel and were able to lie down for a whole 30 minutes before our trip to Chianti.

Y’all, Chianti was breath-taking! The rolling hills carved out in parallel lines were just beautiful. We also enjoyed tours of two wineries with some of the best wine, cheese, olive oil, & balsamic in Italy. Maybe I’m just ignorant, but I had no idea that balsamic gets sweeter with time. We had some that was 12 years old and some that was 20 years old. They were both so delicious & tasting them was probably my favorite part (besides the view)!

I asked Will on the way back if he could be content living there even though it is so far from civilization & he said “no, but maybe in 30 years”. I told him I was ready for 30 years from now 😉 Maybe it was because we were only there for half a day but the place really swept me away with its beauty & peacefulness and had me wanting moreimage-1-2image-2image-3-2image-5-2image-6-2image-7-2image-8-2image-9image-10-2image-11-2image-12-2image-13-2image-14-2.

Once we got back into Florence we got gelato & went to beddo (this time, with heat)!

Leave a comment